Print Shortlink


Halcottsville was settled along the banks of the East Branch of the Delaware River which was originally called “Pakakunk” by the native Americans of the time. This now quiet but charming mountain hamlet, Halcottsville holds a lively past.

During the American revolution, the hamlet’s namesake, Englishman John Halcott defected from the English army and joined up with Washington’s patriots where he achieved the rank of Major. After the war, Halcott established a homestead along the banks of the East Branch where he and wife Letitia (Jenkins) raised a family of twelve.

For 125 years or so the damming and widening of the river created a reliable power source and enabled subsequent industry. Later, this dammed portion became known as Lake Wawaka.   In 1871 the newly laid railroad opened more doors to commerce and recreation.

Today, though quieter than it was, Halcottsville is still an active community. Every March the fire department hosts the “world’s shortest Saint Patrick’s Day Parade”. The community is raising funds to restore the long unused grange building for fire department offices and a multi-use community space. The Delaware & Ulster Railride stops there on it’s way to Roxbury. And, forging a new economy through the arts, several artists have taken up full and part time residence in Halcottsville.

Excerpted from As The River Runs – A History of Halcottsville by Diane Galusha

There is an art gallery, a fully running sawmill, a hotel and wildlife preserve, a log home company, and a farmers market!

To learn more, go to the Central Catskills Chamber of Commerce!

[nggallery id=8]